Democratic ballot order set for Arizona presidential preference election

Dec 12, 2019, 6:00 PM

arizona democratic ballot order katie hobbs...

(Facebook Photo/Secretary Katie Hobbs)

(Facebook Photo/Secretary Katie Hobbs)

PHOENIX – Sen. Amy Klobuchar might not be No. 1 in the Democratic presidential polls, but she’s No. 1 on Arizona’s ballot.

Under state law, ballot order for presidential preference elections, Arizona’s version of a primary, must be determined by lots drawn during a public meeting.

On Wednesday, Arizona Secretary of State Katie Hobbs conducted the drawing for the state’s 18 certified candidates in the March 17 election.

If ballot order matters, former Vice President Joe Biden can’t be happy with the results.

The polling leader was the last of 18 names drawn by Hobbs and will be listed on the bottom of the ballot.

Elizabeth Warren, another strong contender according to polls, also had to wait for her name to be called, winding up 17th on the list.

Here is the complete order:

  1. Amy Klobuchar
  2. Tulsi Gabbard
  3. Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente
  4. Julian Castro
  5. John Delaney
  6. Pete Buttigieg
  7. Michael Bloomberg
  8. Marianne Williamson
  9. Andrew Yang
  10. Tom Steyer
  11. Deval Patrick
  12. Bernie Sanders
  13. Michael Ellinger
  14. Michael Bennet
  15. Henry Hewes
  16. Cory Booker
  17. Elizabeth Warren
  18. Joe Biden

Only voters registered as Democrats by Feb. 18 can participate in Arizona’s 2020 presidential preference election.

The state Republican Party chose not to have a primary next year, instead putting its full support behind President Donald Trump’s reelection effort.

Arizona residents can register at and check their registration status at My.Arizona.Vote.

We want to hear from you.

Have a story idea or tip? Pass it along to the KTAR News team here.

Arizona News


David Veenstra

Arizona gets $10.3M in federal funding to restore ecosystem

The U.S. Department of the Interior is investing $10.3 million to restore Arizona's lands and waters this year.

1 hour ago

(City of Glendale Photo)...

Police search for suspect after 2 people were shot in Glendale

Police are searching for a suspect who allegedly shot two people in Glendale early Saturday.

3 hours ago

(Facebook Photo/Scottsdale Police Department)...

4 people stabbed during early-morning melee at Scottsdale bar

A suspect is in custody after four people were stabbed early Saturday during a violent altercation at a bar in Scottsdale.

5 hours ago

Paella featuring lobster tail, jumbo prawns, diver scallops, mussels, chorizo, arborio rice, Englis...

David Veenstra

Westin Kierland Resort & Spa in Scottsdale opens new restaurant Faro & Brag

The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa opened its new restaurant, "Faro & Brag," in Scottsdale featuring modern cuisine and outdoor seating.

6 hours ago

View of midtown Phoenix. (Phoenix Business Journal Photo)...

Audrey Jensen/Phoenix Business Journal

Phoenix seeks applicants to turn vacant land into mixed-use development

The city of Phoenix is seeking developers for several infill parcels it owns for new housing and commercial projects.

7 hours ago

Velvet Road is one of the four performances as part of Peoria's Music in March concert series. (Peo...

Arin Ducharme

Music in March concerts return to Peoria every Sunday

Music in March at Paloma Community Park returns to Peoria. The concerts will take place at Paloma Community Park near Lake Pleasant Parkway.

8 hours ago

Sponsored Articles


Collins Comfort Masters

Here’s 1 way to ensure your family is drinking safe water

Water is maybe one of the most important resources in our lives, and especially if you have kids, you want them to have access to safe water.


Fiesta Bowl Foundation

The 51st annual Vrbo Fiesta Bowl Parade is excitingly upon us

The 51st annual Vrbo Fiesta Bowl Parade presented by Lerner & Rowe is upon us! The attraction honors Arizona and the history of the game.

(KTAR News Graphic)...

Boys & Girls Clubs

KTAR launches online holiday auction benefitting Boys & Girls Clubs of the Valley

KTAR is teaming up with The Boys & Girls Clubs of the Valley for a holiday auction benefitting thousands of Valley kids.

Democratic ballot order set for Arizona presidential preference election