Gov.-elect Katie Hobbs, Arizona’s other winners to be inaugurated Jan. 5

Dec 1, 2022, 12:00 PM
Katie Hobbs speaks to supporters at a campaign rally on Nov. 6, 2022, in Tucson. (Photo by John Moo...
Katie Hobbs speaks to supporters at a campaign rally on Nov. 6, 2022, in Tucson. (Photo by John Moore/Getty Images)
(Photo by John Moore/Getty Images)

PHOENIX – Gov.-elect Katie Hobbs and Arizona’s other election winners will be inaugurated in a Jan. 5 ceremony.

“I am honored and humbled to have the opportunity to be a leader for all Arizonans, and I’m eager to get to work delivering solutions come January,” Hobbs, who will be Arizona’s first Democratic governor since Janet Napolitano left office in 2009, said in a press release Wednesday.

Hobbs is set to be inaugurated along with fellow Democrats Adrian Fontes (secretary of state) and Kris Mayes (attorney general) and Republicans Kimberly Yee (treasurer) and Tom Horne (superintendent of public instruction.)

While Mayes and Horne both finished ahead in their races, the margins were small enough to trigger automatic full recounts under state law.

Mayes’ race was especially tight. She squeezed past Republican Abe Hamadeh by a mere 510 votes out of more than 2.5 million ballots cast.

The outcome won’t be official until after the recount, which is expected to be completed in late December. The recount process will start after the results are certified at the statewide canvass, which is scheduled for Monday.

After previously putting together a bipartisan Transition Team and naming Allie Bones as her chief of staff, Hobbs on Wednesday announced the members of her Inaugural Committee.

“Our Inaugural Committee team reflects my administration’s commitment to ensuring that the inauguration is representative of the diversity and strength of Arizona,” Hobbs, Arizona’s secretary of state for the last four years, said on social media.

“The Inaugural Committee, together with the Transition Team, will work to make our transition to the governorship smooth so we can hit the ground running to find solutions to the state’s challenges.”

Here are the members of Hobbs’ Inaugural Committee:

  • Moe Asnani
  • Reginald Ballantyne III
  • Mario E. Diaz and Veronica De La O
  • Toni Denis and Andy Denis
  • Fred and Jennifer DuVal
  • Neil Giuliano
  • John and Kathleen Graham
  • Balbir Grewal
  • Pam Grissom
  • Daryl Kling and Lewis Guthrie
  • Nestor and Susan Guzman
  • Sharon and Oliver Harper
  • Kim Khoury
  • Gizette Knight
  • Simon and Elizabeth Kottoor
  • Donalyn Milkes
  • Francis and Dionne Najafi
  • Ron Ober and Gail Gordon
  • William Perry
  • Victor Smith
  • Benee Hilton-Spiegel and Dr. Jay Spiegel
  • David Tedesco

Here are the members of Hobbs’ Transition Team:

  • Mike Haener (co-chair)
  • Monica Villalobos (co-chair)
  • David Adame
  • Jasmine Blackwater-Nygren
  • Ron Butler
  • Chris Camacho
  • Chad Campbell
  • Coral Evans
  • Marlene Galan-Woods
  • Steve Gallardo
  • Marisol Garcia
  • John Giles
  • John Graham
  • Sharon Harper
  • Martin Harvier
  • Berdetta Hodge
  • Andy Kunasek
  • Jen Longdon
  • Garrick McFadden
  • Jim McLaughlin
  • Peggy Neely
  • Jackie Norton
  • Tonya Norwood-Pearson
  • Danny Ortega
  • Lynne Pancrazi
  • Stephanie Parra
  • Frank Piccioli
  • Regina Romero
  • Fabian Sandez
  • Alfred Urbina
  • Mary Rose Wilcox
  • Bob Worsley

We want to hear from you.

Have a story idea or tip? Pass it along to the KTAR News team here.

Arizona News

(L-R) Sen. Mitt Romney (R-UT), Sen. Kyrsten Sinema (I-AZ) and Sen. Todd Youg (R-IN) sit together du...

Arizona politicians react to Joe Biden’s State of the Union speech

Joe Biden wrapped up his State of the Union address on Tuesday night, and politicians from Arizona responded predominantly along party lines.
1 day ago
U.S. President Joe Biden delivers the State of the Union address to a joint session of Congress as ...

Joe Biden urges Congress to pass comprehensive border reform during State of the Union

President Joe Biden during his State of the Union address urged Republicans and Democrats to work together on border legislature. 
1 day ago
Francisco Gurrola (Department of Public Safety Photo)...

Silver Alert issued for 41-year-old man last seen in Phoenix

A silver alert was issued on Tuesday evening for a 41-year-old man last seen in the area of Campbell and 63rd avenues in Phoenix.
1 day ago
President Biden gives his State of the Union address during a joint session of Congress at the U.S....

Watch: President Joe Biden gives 2nd State of Union address

President Joe Biden gave his second State of the Union address in office to a joint session of Congress at the Capitol on Tuesday night.
1 day ago
From left, Kendall Schmidt, Carlos Pena Jr., Logan Henderson and James Maslow, members of Big Time ...
Wills Rice

Big Time Rush’s ‘Can’t Get Enough Tour’ comes to Phoenix in August

For those that grew up with the Nickelodeon television show Big Time Rush, you are in for a big treat when their tour comes to town.
1 day ago
U.S. Department of 
Homeland Security Secretary Alejandro N. Mayorkas addresses the media during a ...

Homeland Sec. Mayorkas says there is no credible threat against Super Bowl in Arizona

An increased security presence will be deployed at the Super Bowl, with every person, piece of merchandise and equipment screened.
1 day ago

Sponsored Articles

(Pexels Photo)...

Sports gambling can be fun for adults, but it’s a dangerous game for children

While adults may find that sports gambling is a way to enhance the experience with more than just fandom on the line, it can be a dangerous proposition if children get involved in the activity.
Quantum Fiber

How high-speed fiber internet edges out cable for everyday use

In a world where technology drives so much of our daily lives, a lack of high-speed internet can be a major issue.
Quantum Fiber

Stream 4K and more with powerful, high-speed fiber internet

Picking which streaming services to subscribe to are difficult choices, and there is no room for internet that cannot handle increased demands.
Gov.-elect Katie Hobbs, Arizona’s other winners to be inaugurated Jan. 5