Share this story...
Latest News

White House recognizes 5 Arizona educators for math, science teaching

(Storyblocks Photo)

PHOENIX — The White House on Tuesday recognized five Arizona educators, including one in the Valley, for their excellence in mentoring and teaching math and science.

Sally Stevens with the University of Arizona was awarded the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring.

The four recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching were:

  • Deborah Nipar, Hamilton High School in Chandler
  • Svea Anderson, Agua Caliente Elementary School in Tucson
  • Amee Legarra, Richardson Elementary School in Tucson
  • Nicole Whitt, Empire High School in Tucson

Nipar, an Advanced Placement chemistry and honors science research teacher, was named a finalist for the award in 2017.

The teaching award, established in 1983, is the highest recognition given by the U.S. government to kindergarten through 12th grade teachers in math and science.

The mentoring award was established in 1995.

Recipients were recognized in all 50 states plus Department of Defense Education Activity schools and U.S. territories.

The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy and the National Science Foundation handle the nominations and awards.

Show Podcasts and Interviews

Reporter Stories