Share this story...
Latest News

2 new Phoenix City Council members take oath of office for first time

(Facebook Screenshot/City of Phoenix, AZ USA)

PHOENIX – The Phoenix City Council will have a new look when it gets down to business this week.

Ann O’Brien and Yassamin Ansari were sworn in for their first terms along with three returning city officials during an inauguration ceremony at Steele Indian School Park on Monday morning.

The event wasn’t open to the public but was livestreamed on the city’s Facebook page.

O’Brien assumed the District 1 seat formerly held by Thelda Williams, and Ansari succeeded Michael Nowakowski in District 7. Williams and Nowakowski couldn’t run again because of term limits.

Mayor Kate Gallego, District 3’s Debra Stark and District 5’s Betty Guardado also took the oath of office Monday after winning reelection.

Each freshly sworn-in official delivered remarks during the ceremony.

“With these great colleagues and my returning colleagues, we know the best is ahead. … This is the team that will address the many great challenges facing the city of Phoenix,” Gallego said.

The first formal meeting for the new-look council is scheduled for 2:30 p.m. Wednesday.

We want to hear from you.

Have a story idea or tip? Pass it along to the KTAR News team here.

Show Podcasts and Interviews

Reporter Stories