Share this story...
Latest News

Stark, Ansari win Phoenix City Council seats in special runoff races

From left, Debra Stark and Yassamin Ansari (City of Phoenix and Facebook Photo)

PHOENIX — Final unofficial election results released Friday night showed that Debra Stark and Yassamin Ansari have won their respective runoff races for Phoenix City Council.

Stark took District 3 with 68.05% of the vote, leading Nicole Garcia by more than 11,000 votes.

Ansari won District 7 with a smaller 58.33%-41.67% lead over opponent Cinthia Estela.

Ansari will replace the term-limited Michael Nowakowski, while Stark will retain her seat.

Stark and Ansari celebrated their wins through Twitter posts on Tuesday night when their respective leads became apparent in the unofficial results.

The women were also congratulated by Phoenix Mayor Kate Gallego, who endorsed both of them.

Phoenix City Council races are nonpartisan.

The City Council is scheduled to canvass the vote totals during a meeting at 2:30 p.m. on Wednesday, which will make the results official.

The new Phoenix City Council term begins April 19.

Show Podcasts and Interviews

Reporter Stories