Share this story...
Latest News

Stark, Ansari lead respective Phoenix City Council runoff races

From left, Debra Stark and Yassamin Ansari (City of Phoenix and Facebook Photo)

PHOENIX — Debra Stark and Yassamin Ansari were leading their respective runoff races for the Phoenix City Council when the initial unofficial election results were released Tuesday night.

Stark, the District 3 incumbent, more than doubled challenger Nicole Garcia’s vote total and held a 68.4%-32.6% lead, while Ansari was comfortably ahead of Cinthia Estela 58.3%-41.7% in District 7.

City officials will continue to process and tabulate early ballots and provisional ballots over the next several days and provide nightly updates starting Thursday.

The race in southwest Phoenix’s District 7 is to replace the term-limited Michael Nowakowski.

Phoenix City Council races are nonpartisan.

Ansari and Estela each collected 32% of the vote in a five-way race during the November 2020 general election.

Stark narrowly missed clinching reelection in a three-way race, garnering 47% of the vote to Garcia’s 35%, in the District 3 general election.

District 3 covers areas of north-central Phoenix between Interstate 17 and Paradise Valley.

Early voting in the runoff election began Feb. 10, with the final phase of in-person voting beginning Friday and wrapping up Tuesday.

Ann O’Brien, a newcomer, already secured a seat by winning more than 50% in November and will replace the term-limited Thelda Williams in District 1.

The new Phoenix City Council term begins April 19.

Show Podcasts and Interviews

Reporter Stories