Share this story...
Latest News

Group pushing to make Route 66 a historic landmark will visit Arizona

(Creative Commons Photo/Vicente Villamón).

PHOENIX — A national nonprofit group will roll through Arizona this month during its push to have Route 66 designated as a National Historic Trail.

Representatives from the National Trust for Historic Preservation left Chicago on Monday for a monthlong journey across the full length of the iconic highway.

Route 66 spans eight states: Illinois, Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas, New Mexico, Arizona and California.

The tour was scheduled to be in Arizona on July 26-31 and conclude in Los Angeles on Aug. 3.

The group will hold meetups throughout the journey, although details have been confirmed only for the segments in Illinois and Missouri.

The National Park Service said there are 19 designated National Historic Trails, including the Trail of Tears, the Lewis and Clark trail and the Selma to Montgomery March in Alabama.

It is up to Congress to decide whether a route should get the designation.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Show Podcasts and Interviews

Reporter Stories

Related Links