MICHAEL RUSSELL

Opinion: Both sides are right in NFL national anthem standing debate

Sep 12, 2017, 6:50 PM
FILE - Int his Monday, Sept. 12, 2016, file photo, San Francisco 49ers safety Eric Reid (35) and qu...

FILE - Int his Monday, Sept. 12, 2016, file photo, San Francisco 49ers safety Eric Reid (35) and quarterback Colin Kaepernick (7) kneel during the national anthem before an NFL football game against the Los Angeles Rams in Santa Clara, Calif. Reid has resumed his kneeling protest for human rights during the national anthem, after joining then-teammate Kaepernick's polarizing demonstration last season. (AP Photo/Marcio Jose Sanchez, File)

(AP Photo/Marcio Jose Sanchez, File)

Now that Week One of the NFL season is in the rear-view mirror, I would like to finally address this standing or kneeling for the national anthem nonsense.

It’s very fitting, to me, that week one ended on 9/11 with a Monday night doubleheader.

You see, Sept. 11 has been rebranded as Patriots’ Day. I can’t think of a more fitting day to stand with pride, hand-over-heart, looking at our nation’s flag, while the national anthem is played.

So of course all of the TV cameras were fixed on both sidelines, scanning up and down the line of players, looking for the one that isn’t standing, the one that will make headlines.

Look, the bottom line in this debate is simple: Whether you side with those that don’t stand for the national anthem or you lambaste those that don’t, you are right.

Those that don’t stand for the national anthem and those that defend that action or inaction, in this case, are perfectly within their American-born rights to do so.

Those that have commented or who take to social media to broadcast how insulted they are by people not standing for the national anthem and the disrespectful nature of that person’s actions are perfectly within their American-born right to do so.

You see, both sides are right here. Hundreds of thousands of men and women have died to gain and to preserve our right of free speech, our freedom of expression and even our right to be insulted by other’s actions or comments.

But please understand the First Amendment was not written to protect us from polite speech or polite expression of feelings. It was written to protect our right to express ourselves in impolite and offensive ways. It was written so the government cannot silence our non-threatening voices and actions.

Yes, not standing for the national anthem is an unheard of action in my book. But that’s MY book. Do I think that players should be punished for not doing so? Absolutely not.

Do I think that those that have voiced their displeasure or said mean things about these players for not standing for the national anthem should be punished? Absolutely not.

And that, my friends, is the First Amendment, that is American.

Now with regards to the man that started all of this nonsense, Colin Kaepernick, he’s not being punished for not standing for the national anthem. He is a very talented quarterback that remains unsigned and unemployed because he has become a potential cancer to any team for which he suits up.

Now please understand: I am a brand-new flag football coach for 9- and 10-year-olds. I will admit openly that I am not an NFL level coach. I am not versed in dealing with egos, management, ownership and the media.

But I do understand group dynamics, so I’m not surprised that all NFL teams have passed on signing Kaepernick because of the media attention and hype he would bring to every national anthem of all 16 games they play this season.

That only takes away from what’s going on on the field, in the locker room and on the sidelines.

If that point hasn’t quite sunk in yet let’s go to the case of Tim Tebow. You remember him: The very talented, very athletic, Heisman Trophy-winning, national championship-winning quarterback from Florida.

Why is he not playing in the NFL? Why did he never really get a fair shot in the NFL? Because the media clamped on to a young man who openly speaks of his faith and prays on the sideline.

The media made him a sideshow. The media made him a cancer to NFL teams.

So here we have two amazingly gifted athletes, one that refuses to stand for the national anthem to protest the policing of black Americans and another that takes the “guns to the sky” celebration one step further by taking a knee and praying on the sideline.

Both are having their talents wasted away due to actions that are very well protected by our nation’s Constitution.

Their actions are just not protected by the NFL’s culture of “team first, individual expression second.”

Michael Russell

Mike Russell

Opinion: This walkout most likely will backfire on our teachers

Arizona teachers are refusing to recognize the optics of a walkout and don't seem to realize that it could alienate parents. There's a better way.
4 years ago
(Twitter Photo; Instagram Photo)...
Mike Russell

Opinion: Jay Feely’s prom photo with gun is dad’s right to make a joke

Over the weekend former Arizona Cardinals kicker Jay Feely posted a picture on social media of his daughter and her date before heading to prom. The social media trolls jumped all over it.
4 years ago
(AP Photo/Ted S. Warren)...
Mike Russell

Opinion: Federal bump stock ban should worry both sides of the aisle

Attorney General Jeff Sessions wants to criminalize bump stocks. Mike Russell doesn't like them, but said the ban should worry both sides of the aisle.
5 years ago
Zachary Chakin holds up a sign as crowds of people participate in the March for Our Lives rally in ...
Mike Russell

Opinion: Takes on the past weekend’s three biggest stories

The first weekend of spring has sprung three huge news stories on us. Here’s Mike Russell's takes on this weekend’s big news hat trick.
5 years ago
(Pexels.com)...
Mike Russell

Opinion: HSUS’s accreditation drop should serve as wakeup call

The recent problems facing The Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) should be a wakeup call for all of us that give to ANY charity.
5 years ago
(AP Photo/Adam Beam)...
Mike Russell

Opinion: Red for Ed duped Arizonans into backing politics, not teachers

Mike Russell writes that Arizonans were duped Wednesday when they wore red to support teachers. Instead, the unwittingly supported a political candidate.
5 years ago

Sponsored Articles

...
Day & Night Air Conditioning, Heating and Plumbing

Here are 4 signs the HVAC unit needs to be replaced

Pool renovations and kitchen upgrades may seem enticing, but at the forefront of these investments arguably should be what residents use the most. In a state where summertime is sweltering, access to a functioning HVAC unit can be critical.
...
Sanderson Ford

Don’t let rising fuel prices stop you from traveling Arizona this summer

There's no better time to get out on the open road and see what the beautiful state of Arizona has to offer. But if the cost of gas is putting a cloud over your summer vacation plans, let Sanderson Ford help with their wide-range selection of electric vehicles.
...
Dr. Richard Carmona

Great news: Children under 5 can now get COVID-19 vaccine

After more than two years of battle with an invisible killer, we can now vaccinate the youngest among us against COVID-19. This is great news.
Opinion: Both sides are right in NFL national anthem standing debate