Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
92.3 FM KTAR

Navajo council rejects measure on term limits

WINDOW ROCK, Ariz. — A measure to keep Navajo Nation lawmakers from
serving more than 16 years in office and limit the tribal president to eight
years has failed.

Delegate Russell Begaye sponsored the legislation that went before the Navajo
Nation Council on Tuesday. It did not get the 16 votes needed to pass.

Amendments that sought to enact a two-term limit for lawmakers and stagger
their terms also failed.

The tribal president already is limited to two consecutive four-year terms.
Begaye’s legislation would have barred any tribal president who has served two
terms, consecutive or not, from running again.

Tribal lawmakers are elected to serve four-year terms.

Begaye says he has legislation prepared that would allow Navajos to vote on
term limits.


comments powered by Disqus