Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
92.3 FM KTAR
Updated Mar 18, 2014 - 10:28 am

All Arizona counties placed under federal drought declaration

PHOENIX — All of Arizona’s 15 counties have been designated by the U.S.
Department of Agriculture as natural disaster areas for drought, making farmers
and ranchers eligible for federal low-interest emergency loans.

The latest designation by Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack covered Apache,
Cochise, Coconino, Gila, Graham, Greenlee, La Paz, Maricopa, Mohave, Navajo and
Yavapai counties.

The other four counties — Pima, Pinal, Santa Cruz and Yuma — were eligible
starting late last month.

The state Agriculture Department said the federal designation is based on
agricultural production losses.

Eligible farm operators have eight months to apply for the loans.


comments powered by Disqus