Share this story...
Latest News

Charlie Rose receives annual Cronkite award from Arizona State University

Charlie Rose accepts the 2015 Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism from ASU Provost Mark Searle. (Photo: Joe Giordano with Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communications)

PHOENIX — Charlie Rose, anchor of “CBS This Morning” and host of a talk show on PBS, received the 32nd Annual Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism during a ceremony Monday afternoon.

The award was presented to Rose by ASU Provost Mark Searle at a downtown Phoenix ceremony attended by more than 1,000 students, business leaders and other supporters of the school.

During his acceptance speech, Rose dedicated the award to journalists who risk their lives pursuing stories around the world.

“My table, whether it’s an oak table on ‘Charlie Rose,’ or a glass table on ‘CBS This Morning’ or a ‘60 Minutes’ set somewhere, is a symbol for me of the role of conversation today,” he said during his acceptance speech. “If you honor me for anything, honor me for my belief in the power of questions, the power of curiosity and – yes – the power of confrontation.”

Rose reflected on his 40-plus year career and told students in the audience to “never stop learning” and to be bold in their careers.

“You can’t wait for the world to come to you,” he said during his acceptance speech. “You have to come to the world and take advantage of it where you can.”

During his visit to ASU, Rose taped an episode of “Charlie Rose” at the Arizona PBS studios in Cronkite, in which he interviewed Sen. John McCain on foreign policy. Rose also conducted a roundtable discussion on journalism with the Dean of the Cronkite School, Christopher Callahan.

The award is given by ASU’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication and recognizes a distinguished journalist who embodies the values of the school’s namesake.

Cronkite presented the first award bearing his name in 1984 and was a fixture at the event until his death in 2009.

Some of the past honorees include Tom Brokaw, Diane Sawyer, Ben Bradlee, Ted Turner and ABC newscaster Robin Roberts, who was the recipient of last year’s award.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Related Links