Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
92.3 FM KTAR

Biggs to replace Pierce as Arizona Senate president

PHOENIX — There will be turnover in the Arizona Legislature’s top leadership ranks come

While House Republicans will keep Andy Tobin as House speaker, Senate
Republicans have voted to replace President Steve Pierce with current Majority
Leader Andy Biggs.

Both Pierce and Biggs are conservatives, but Biggs is regarded as more of a

Other new leaders will include John McComish as Senate majority leader and Adam
Driggs as Senate majority whip. In the House, David Gowan will be majority
leader and Rick Gray will be majority leader.

Majority Republicans in both legislative chambers held closed-door caucuses to
reorganize after Tuesday’s general election.

The election results saw Republicans retain their majorities but lose seats in
each chamber to Democrats.


comments powered by Disqus