Share this story...
Latest News

CNN’s Anderson Cooper selected to receive ASU’s Cronkite Award

(Photo courtesy of CNN)

PHOENIX — Arizona State University has announced CNN anchor Anderson Cooper as the recipient of the 2018 Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism.

The award, given out annually since 1984, is presented to selected journalists who have played influential roles in the media and who demonstrate the values of the school’s namesake, Walter Cronkite.

Past awards have been given to Scott Pelley, Robin Roberts, Diane Sawyer, Tom Brokaw and Al Michaels.

The recipients are selected by the Cronkite Endowment Board of Trustees.

According to a release by ASU, Cooper has reported live from more than 40 countries since 1992 and has won 13 Emmys throughout his career.

“I’m proud to honor Mr. Cronkite’s legacy. He sparked my interest in journalism at a young age and remains a guiding star for generations of journalists,” Cooper said in the release.

Cooper’s work is also regularly featured on “60 Minutes” on CBS.

The award will be given at a luncheon ceremony Oct. 17 at the Sheraton Grand in Phoenix by the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

Individual tickets for the event start at $200.

Show Podcasts and Interviews

Reporter Stories

Related Links