Share this story...
Latest News

Here are the live results for Arizona special election with Lesko, Tipirneni

Former Arizona Sen. Debbie Lesko, left, and Dr. Hiral Tipirneni, both of whom are among the record number of women running for U.S. House seats in the 2018 election. (Facebook and AP photos)

PHOENIX — Thousands of voters have made their way to the polls on Tuesday to elect a representative in an Phoenix-area congressional district after former U.S. Rep. Trent Franks resigned late last year.

Those voters will elect either Debbie Lesko, a former Arizona state senator who ran for the Republican Party, or Hiral Tipirneni, a former emergency-room physician who represented the Democratic Party.

Voting had hit a snag on Tuesday, after a printing delay prevented about 8,000 residents in the 8th Congressional District from receiving their voter registration IDs in time.

But County Recorder Adrian Fontes told ThinkProgress that it was “not that big of an impact on voters because we have redundancies in our system. Every voter already got either a ballot in the mail or they got a sample ballot in the mail.”

The district covers much of the western Phoenix suburbs, where a Democrat has not been elected in more than 35 years.

Polls for the election will close at 7 p.m., with early results expected to kick off around 8 p.m.

You can follow along with the results using the widget below.


Comment guidelines: No name-calling, personal attacks, profanity, or insults. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate comments by reporting abuse.
comments powered by Disqus

Show Podcasts and Interviews

Reporter Stories