Share this story...
Latest News

CBS News to broadcast live from Phoenix, anchor Scott Pelley receives ASU award

CBS News anchor Scott Pelley receives the 2016 Cronkite Award from ASU Provost Mark Searle. (Photo by Ashley Lowery)

PHOENIX — “CBS Evening News” will broadcast live from downtown Monday night, just hours after anchor Scott Pelley received Arizona State University’s 2016 Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism.

ASU’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication will host the broadcast at the Phoenix campus.

Pelley was presented the award at a luncheon at the Sheraton Grand Phoenix hotel.

Pelley said in the spring when the award winner was announced, “I’m greatly humbled by this recognition from the Cronkite School because it comes in the name of a man I knew, admired and loved.”

Pelley accepted the 33rd annual award in front of approximately 1,000 people. During his acceptance speech, Pelley pointed out that fake news could be evermore dangerous in our social media-led world.

“Is terrorism the greatest threat to our country, or a recession?” Pelley asked. “I suggest to you today that the quickest, most direct way to ruin a democracy is to poison the information. Those are the stakes that we have to address.”

ASU’s journalism school was named after Cronkite in 1984 and he presented the award to the recipient for over 20 years, following his longstanding reputation at CBS and around the country as one of the most honest and trustworthy journalists.

The legendary Cronkite anchored the network’s news from 1962 to 1981. He joined the department as a reporter in 1950.

“CBS News, for many, is synonymous with Walter Cronkite. ASU and this award continue the best values of the Cronkite legacy,” CBS News President David Rhodes said in a statement after the announcement.

“We are so pleased that the journalism school recognizes the continuation of this important legacy through the impressive work Scott Pelley is doing for our audiences every day.”

Pelley joined CBS News in 1989 and took over anchor duties in 2011.

Previous winners included Bob Costas, Charlie Rose, Robin Roberts, Tom Brokaw and Bob Woodward.

Cronkite died in 2009 at the age of 82.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Related Links