Share this story...
Latest News

Arizona’s Latino elected officials call out ‘Trumpublicans’

The definition of a Trumpublican. (Corbin Carson/KTAR)

Several Arizona Latino-elected officials and civil rights leaders are lumping Donald Trump and all Republicans together.

The national campaign announced Thursday in Downtown Phoenix is called ‘Trumpublicans, Reject Donald Trump and Republicans.”

“What that is, is our community cannot be treated the way it has been treated by Donald Trump and the Republicans,” said Lizet Ocampo, director of Latinos Vote! for People For the American Way.

Our definition of Trumpublicans is Republicans who’ve endorsed or pledged to vote for Trump to win support and votes from the far right.

“Republicans who claim to oppose Trump’s hateful campaign, yet work to advance his candidacy and agenda,” Ocampo said. “For example, holding the Supreme Court seat open for him to fill.”

The campaign intends to start running bi-lingual ‘Trumpublican’ ads in several states, including Arizona.

The group used Arizona Senator John McCain as an example.

“Even though Donald Trump has been having all of this hateful rhetoric against Mexicans, against immigrants, Senator McCain has not done anything to denounce the statements that he’s saying,” said Dolores Huerta the civil rights leader who co-founded the United Farm Workers with Cesar Chavez.

Maricopa County Supervisor Steve Gallardo added, “When you vote for John McCain, you are voting for Donald Trump. I think that’s the message that Latinos need to know.”

Congressman Ruben Gallego took it one step further.

“Let me begin by making one thing clear, John McCain and Donald Trump are one-in-the-same,” said Gallego.

Lea Marquez-Peterson, Co-Chair of Unidos con McCain responded Thursday evening with a statement that in part said, “This is another shameful example of partisan, election-year politics. The people ‘protesting’ John McCain [Thursday] were the same individuals praising him for leading the fight to pass landmark immigration reform through the U.S. Senate in 2013.”

Related Links