Share this story...
Latest News

Democrats announce over 60 speakers for convention, 3 are from Arizona

Former Arizona congresswoman and U.S. Rep. Gabrielle "Gabby" Giffords and her husband Capt. Mark Kelly are scheduled to speak at the Democratic National Convention, which starts Monday. (AP Photo/Scott Morgan, File)

With the Democratic National Convention set for next week, Democrats announced over 60 people who are going to speak at the event that starts Monday.

Among the 60 people who were announced, three of those are from Arizona.

They are congressman Ruben Gallego, former Arizona congresswoman and U.S. Rep. Gabrielle “Gabby” Giffords and Capt. Mark Kelly, who is the husband of Giffords.

More speakers are going to be announced in the coming days.

Gallego, Giffords and Kelly are expected to be among those making the argument they are uniting behind Hillary Clinton following a bruising primary against Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders.

Sanders is among the keynote speakers who were previously announced for the convention that begins Monday and runs through Thursday. President Barack Obama and his wife Michelle, Bill Clinton and his daughter Chelsea had all been announced earlier.

Here’s the rest of the people who were announced Thursday to speak next week at the convention.

Senate members:

— Minority Leader Harry Reid

— Cory Booker, of New Jersey

— Barbara Boxer, of California

— Sherrod Brown, of Ohio

— Bob Casey, of Pennsylvania

— Al Franken, of Minnesota

— Kirsten Gillibrand, of New York

— Tim Kaine, of Virginia

— Amy Klobuchar, of Minnesota

— Chris Murphy, of Connecticut

— Chuck Schumer, of New York

— Jeanne Shaheen, of New Hampshire

— Elizabeth Warren, of Massachusetts

House members:

— Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi

— Joyce Beatty, of Ohio

— Xavier Becerra, of California

— Brendan Boyle, of Pennsylvania

— Bob Brady, of Pennsylvania

— Joaquin Castro, of Texas

— James Clyburn, of South Carolina

— Joseph Crowley, of New York

— Michelle Lujan Grisham, of New Mexico

— Luis Gutierrez, of Illinois

— Sheila Jackson Lee, of Texas

— Ted Lieu, of California

— Nita Lowey, of New York

— Gwen Moore, of Wisconsin

— Eleanor Holmes Norton, of Washington, D.C.

— Adam Schiff, of California

— Maxine Waters, of California

State and local officials:

— Tennessee state Rep. Raumesh Akbari

— Columbia, South Carolina, Mayor Steve Benjamin

— California Gov. Jerry Brown

— New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo

— Minnesota Gov. Mark Dayton

— New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio

— Detroit Mayor Mike Duggan

— Colorado state Rep. Crisanta Duran

— Chillicothe, Ohio, Mayor Luke Feeney

— Minnesota state Rep. Peggy Flanagan

— Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti

— Tallahassee, Florida, Mayor Andrew Gillum

— South Carolina Democratic Party Chairman Jaime Harrison

— Colorado Gov. John Hickenlooper

— Philadelphia Mayor Jim Kenney

— Nevada state Sen. Ruben Kihuen

— Kentucky Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes

— Virginia Gov. Terry McAuliffe

— California Lt. Gov. Gavin Newsom

— Atlanta Mayor Kasim Reed

— Nevada state Sen. Pat Spearman

— Boston Mayor Marty Walsh

— Flint, Michigan, Mayor Karen Weaver

— Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf

Past office holders:

— Former Vermont Gov. Howard Dean

— Former Michigan Gov. Jennifer Granholm

— Former Iowa Sen. Tom Harkin

— Former Maryland Gov. Martin O’Malley

— Former South Carolina state Rep. Bakari Sellers

— Former Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Related Links