Register | Forgot Your Password? | Close

PHOENIX -- The U.S. Department of Agriculture has granted a disaster designation to six Arizona counties hit hard by drought damage in recent years.

The funding to help farmers and landowners in Maricopa, Yavapai, Coconino, La Paz, Mohave and Gila counties was announced Wednesday by Arizona Gov. Jan Brewer.

With the federal designation, farm operators in the six counties now are eligible to apply for low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency.

A similar disaster designation was issued last month for Apache, Gila, Graham, Greenlee Navajo, Pima and Pinal counties.

That leaves just Santa Cruz and Cochise counties awaiting eligibility for federal funding.

Eligible farm operators in the affected areas have eight months in which to apply for low-interest emergency loans from the FSA.

Associated Press,

share this story:
Attention Comment Users: We have recently changed our comments boards.
We would like you to be part of the conversation and The Voice of Arizona by logging in with your Facebook, Twitter, Google+ or Disqus account. Existing KTAR (Arizona Sports) account members will need to create a Disqus account or use one of the aforementioned social media logins. Thank you.
comments powered by Disqus

World Class Arizona

  • Dignity Health

    World Class People. World Class Company. Excellent care, delivered with compassion, for all in need.

Voice For A Better Arizona

  • Family in Focus

    KTAR spends the week taking a look at the issues a modern Arizona family faces.