PHOENIX -- Arizona children under the age of 8 will be required to ride in a car seat next week, when a new law goes into effect.
Until now, Arizona was one of only three states without a booster-seat law. That changes Aug. 2, when the amended law takes effect.
"The new provision will require children younger than 8 years old or less than 4 feet 9 inches tall to sit in a child-safety seat, such as a booster seat, when riding in a vehicle," said Stephanie Dembowski with Triple-A Arizona.
According to Dembowski, there is a good reason for the law.
"The 5-year-olds to 8-year-olds who were killed in car crashes died because they were not properly restrained," she said. "We do know that they say lives and this updated law, without a doubt, is going to make a difference on our roads."
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, proper use of a safety seat can reduce a child's fatality risk up to 71 percent.
- Dignity Health World Class People. World Class Company. Excellent care, delivered with compassion, for all in need.
Voice For A Better Arizona
- Family in Focus KTAR spends the week taking a look at the issues a modern Arizona family faces.